In Blob We Trust

The other day at work yielded this tasty tidbit from the CA legal system: I was tasked with delivery of a large check to the criminal court’s cashier. This check, for a hefty 184,000 dollars, was intended to pay off some dude’s fines to the state.

When I picked it up at the lawfirm I was told that this was the third time they had sent the check. Apparently the court computer system could not handle six digits. What?! They had talked with a supervisor and she was expecting us.

Worst part? When I got to the court at 3:50pm, a full forty minutes before closing time, the main person had left and the remaining underlings were not so sharp. They finally wound up sending me, and my huge check, back to the law firm.

Perhaps the fourth time will be the charm? I’m just glad it isn’t me going back there again.. And seriously, isn’t the state broke? Wouldn’t they want to take this guy’s money already? Government “workers” are a walking oxymoron. Blobs of the state I say.

This entry was posted in people, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment